Yu Suzuki Wins Hall of Fame Award

Yu Suzuki, best known to RPG fans as the creator of the Shenmue series, is set to receive The Academy of Interactive Arts and Science's (AIAS, for short) prestigious Hall of Fame Award. The Hall of Fame Award, a "Lifetime Achievement" award of sorts, has previously been won by industry innovators such as Shigeru Miyamoto, Final Fantasy creator Hironobu Sakaguchi, and simulation giant Sid Meier. Last year's recipient of the award, Will Wright (creator of the outrageously popular PC game The Sims) will present the award to Mr. Suzuki.

Mr. Suzuki is an executive officer and the leading developer at SEGA corporation. Throughout his career he has constantly been at the forefront of the gaming industry by developing a slew of innovative titles such as Outrun, Space Harrier, the Virtua Fighter series, as well as the aforementioned Shenmue series. "I am greatly honored to receive the Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences Hall of Fame Award," said Mr. Suzuki. "I am pleased to be highly commended by the AIAS as a Hall of Fame Inductee along with many industry visionaries."

The sixth annual AIAS awards will be held in Las Vegas, Nevada, on February 27. A total of 30 awards in the categories of craft, console, computer and online will be presented, including the much vaunted Game of the Year award. For more information on the AIAS, visit their website at Look to RPGamer to bring you the full report on how RPGs and their designers ultimately fare at this year's awards.

·Discuss this story in the RPGamer message forums    

by Justin Harwood    

<- Back
© 1998-2017 RPGamer All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy