Final Fantasy XI Class System Details
Final Fantasy XI

Details about Final Fantasy XI's battle system have finally been revealed. Players will choose from six different classes when they start the game, including the classic Final Fantasy's Fighter, Monk, Thief, Black Mage, White Mage, and Red Mage. It doesn't matter what race one chooses; all of them utilize the same class system. As the game progresses, the player will accumulate experience and new job paths will open. The following paragraphs will outline each of the announced classes.

The Fighter class uses heavy, close combat weapons and can equip most types of armor. They use Mighty Strike, which enables them to hit enemies critically every turn.

Monks are expert martial artists and are unable to equip heavy armor. They use the Hundred Punches ability, which allows them to hit hard and fast.

Thieves are extremely agile and are great at stealing from enemies as they attack them. They can learn many abilities, including Complete Evasion, a skill that helps them evade all enemy attacks.

White Mages support allies and are effective healers. Their Blessing from God ability heals all of their comrades.

Black Mages may be weak physically, but their ability to cast offensive Black Magic can easily turn the tide of a battle. They utilize the Magic Swirl ability, which allows them to cast spells without expending MP.

Red Mages can use both White and Black Magic, as well as equip somewhat heavy armor. Although they are very well rounded, they'll never be able to master their abilities on the scale of their counterparts. They use Continuous Magic, which enables them to cast magic spells one after another.

Final Fantasy XI is scheduled to be released in Japan this spring, followed by a North American release in late 2002 or early 2003.

by Joseph Witham    
Source: [The Magic Box]
<- Back
© 1998-2017 RPGamer All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy